Exercise: Image development

Exercise: Image development

This exercise asked to use a photograph and to crop it at different angles and formats to verify how the impact of the picture changes.
It was quite difficult to find a picture for this purpose, because I found most of the pictures did not have a variety of subjects, background and foreground to be cropped in 10 different ways.
My choice is a photo took years ago in a glass factory in Czech Republic.

SONY DSC

I thought this was good because you could understand the content of the picture from many points of view, so that even cropping it at many angles only the feeling of it could change rather than the content.

Focus
Focus
Conversation
Conversation
Busy
Busy
Air
Air
Working
Working
Warmth
Warmth
Spy
Spy
Spectator
Spectator
Hidden
Hidden
Freedom
Freedom

I think in fact in general the subject of the picture did not suffer the changes: you can get from almost every angles that an industrial environment is pictured and that the people portrayed are men at work.
However I can see differences in the focus and the feeling of every single image.

For instance, the ones capturing my attention are freedom, with its sense of freshness and independence, I would say; warmth, where cutting out the windows results in such a warm feeling given by the slight hot colour on the back wall (probably reflection of the massive ovens) which I could not even notice before; focus, where the open window on top of the long, narrow picture it is hunting me dramatically.
I choose to refer to the picture associated with freedom to create an illustration, as I found it more inspiring.
The interesting thing is that what came out is totally not related to the subject of the picture.
Driven by the word associated to the picture, I let my mind go and worked on how I can get that message more obvious and clear.
The open window, with its flying curtain and clear empty background was the key, but how to transform the man in someone clearly looking to be free?

 

5
In the first place the combination of the subject with the word freedom, brought me to the concept that working makes a man free. Even though a beautiful and meaningful message, I thought it was a little ‘heavy’ in this case.
So I started thinking that if that window represents freedom the man has in some way to reach that space.
Has he got wings to fly? Too dream-like.
A ladder? Too easy.
A nice old method would work fine. Knotted sheets.
I choose to use a pen to work with free lines, using black and white to emphasize the window and the sheet climbing the wall.
Then I added the word freedom digitally to have the chance to experiment more fonts.
It was also useful to position the text in different ways:

5_0002 guy  5_0001 (2)

 
My personal final choice goes to this last one:

 

prova1

 

Leave a Reply

