Exercise: Client visuals

Exercise: Client visuals

I worked on visuals choosing two illustrations.
The first one is an illustration by Spike Press, one of his logos.

DSCN6588

The first step was measuring the drawing and enlarge it by 2 times and half (8,5×16,5 to 21,5×41,25). I took more few main points to keep the proportions right and started drawing. In the first visual I tried adding as many details as possible also trying to give an impression of the textures and the shades, even though I didn’t use any colour.

DSCN6584

I traced this drawing to obtain a simpler version, editing all the unnecessary details, getting a basic, clean line drawing.

DSCN6585
The second illustration is by Rohan Daniel Eason, whose works I particularly enjoy. I couldn’t find its real measures, so I took a screenshot and worked as it was my piece of paper (12×15,3 to 30×38,25).

IMG_0287

With this second illustration I worked in the opposite way, compared to the first one. I started with a quite simple line drawing, adding some lines, just to distinguish the black and white areas.

DSCN6573

Afterwards I started filling in the drawing with lots of details, trying to get it as clear as possible.

DSCN6574

I experienced a really big difference between the first and the second illustration, mostly because of their really different style.
I thought that even in the edited version the Spike Press’ illustration was really clear and perfectly conveyed the final idea while I definitely needed more details in the basic visual of R.D. Eason’s piece, because the simple line drawing was a bit confusing and didn’t give a correct idea of the final result.
I found R. D. Eason’s website particularly useful to understand the art direction. In the page named Process he published some of his artworks from sketches to final, giving a great example of how things work.
Reference:
http://www.rohaneason.com/
Pictographic Index 1, by Karolina & Hans Lijklema , pages 268-279, Spike Press.

Leave a Reply

