Exercise: Packaging

Exercise: Packaging

It was quite fun to work on packaging illustrations, maybe even more because it involved extinct animals, which lead me to a very interesting research.
The brief asked illustrations for three different flavoured biscuits, raisin, choc chip and ginger.
It had to include extinct animals interacting with the biscuits and to be in full colour.

The first step was researching about the existing products: I noticed packaging targeted for kids are often featuring animals and are really playful, which I think demonstrates how pester power is the key in the success of those products. The only thing that is probably really attracting parents to buy them is when nutritional information are displayed, and particularly the ones relative to the supplements for healthy growth of their kids.

After observing different packagings, even through internet, I started researching on the animals.
Obviously I was dragged straight away to the thought of dinosaurs, but I decided to focus my research on other extinct animals, the ones few people know about, the ones who where relatively recently lost for ever.
The research started to make sense when I found out about a book, Cari estinti by the Italian author Arianna Papini.
I managed to see some of the illustrations of this beautiful children book and thought it was amazingly inspiring and at the same time extremely useful to my research.
I managed to list all the animals featured in the book and went on trying to find images.

Scan 47

In the end I chose three animals, from three different habitats ( there is a marsupial, a bird and a cetacean). The Tasmanian tiger, also known as thylacine, was a carnivorous marsupial extinct in the 1936.
I managed to watch a video taken of this beautiful animal and I was really impressed by its elongated enormous jaw, that looks like changing shape from when its closed, similar to a dog one, to when it is wide open.
The Baiji dolphin was a freshwater cetacean, only peculiar of the Chinese river Yangtze. It features a really long and narrow mouth and its fins look shorter than a regular dolphin.
Even thought not declared extinct, the last exemplar of this specie was seen in 2002.
The Great Auk was a flightless bird and was the first one defined as a penguin. It was found in Canada, Greenland, Iceland, the Faroe Islands, Norway, Ireland, Great Britain and even northern Spain. It went extinct in 1852.
Before sketching I thought to match each animal to the colour palette of the flavours. Particularly I chose the yellow/ochra Tasmanian tiger to go with the purple raisins; the grey/blue Baiji dolphin with the light yellow and ochre ginger; finally the black/white Great Auk with the reddish brown chocolate.

I started to sketch after recording few ideas in thumbnails and I created line visuals.

Scan 48

Scan 49

I then decided to colour my line drawing with gouache and picked the Tasmanian tiger and the Great auk. I tried a quick mock up with both a hand drawn font and a digital one.

Scan 54Version 2
I loved the outcomes, even though I think the Tasmanian tiger purple background looks a bit uneven, due to the fact that I just recently started off with gouaches after long time not using them.
I think in this case the digital fonts is more successful, looking sharper than the hand drawn one, even though this is also due to the tone chosen for each one.

 

Leave a Reply

